Are Women Bitches?

bitchonboard

I’ve been thinking about this for a while now and I really have yet to come to a conclusion: why do women call themselves bitches?

I have heard arguments from both sides:

1) Women call themselves bitches because they are taking back the word. For example when Eve says, “my bitches are strong, my bitches will live” on a skit off of the Let There Be Eve…Ruff Ryders’ First Lady album.

2) Women call themselves bitches because it’s nothing. In hip it seems to be an accepted practice to call men “niggas” and women “bitches”. It’s a cultural thing and it means nothing more than a different term to denote gender.

I’m definately one of those, “don’t call me a bitch unless you wanna scrap” type chicks so I don’t really use the word unless I’m denoting someone’s idiocy, incompetance, and all-around stankassness, however I won’t say that when I hear a song like Eve’s My Bitches I don’t sing along with chest puffed up in pride for how strong women are.

On the other hand, I was at a show recently where a MC did two songs and both songs refered to herself and those listening to the song as bitches. I was relieved to hear a woman behind me say something to the effect of, “why do I have to called a bitch here in this enviornment?”

Does it really matter? And if it does, where is the line drawn for women making songs calling other women bitches?

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Connect: Send music, events, and updates to LaBlaxicana@gmail.com Twitter.com/LaBlaxicana MySpace.com/LaBlaxican