Kenika: The People’s Choice

Kenika

 

I’ve been a fan of Kenika’s since I heard All On My MySpace. She went at hating women and fake assed dudes. It was beautiful. She put out Diary of a Hood Chick a while back and she’s back in the studio recording her sophomore effort, as yet untitled.

 

The first thing you’ll notice about Kenika’s music is that it’s raw, aggressive, and brash. I mean that in a good way. I asked her why such a nice person would come so hard in her music, “I’m shit talking for the females. Everything I make isn’t for children to repeat, but I’mma get my shine on. I’mma make songs about relationships, my kids, everything”. We are dynamic people and I can respect that.

 

It all began in 7th grade at the lunchroom tables, “all the guys would be bangin’ on the table and rhyming”. After honing her skills a bit throughout high school, she did the remix, Bad Nigga and it got a lot of love in the Houston area, so she kept at it. In life, “there are two sides to every story” so Kenika has taken up the mantle for the ladies. Many people message her saying that her music is the truth. People even send her songs asking her to create a version for the females. Listen to All On My MySpace if you doubt. I know I have felt that way several times since creating a MySpace account.

 

Kenika is known for creating sly remixes of popular songs. She has explained what a dope dude is on Bad Nigga (a remix of Bad Bitch by Lil’ Webbie) and stepped to girlfriends and wives everywhere with her Side Line Ho remix (from singer Monica). She likens her train of thought to that of Lil’ Wayne, “if a song is out and it’s hot, go for it”.

 

And can we talk about the hustle? Ya girl put out Diary of a Hood Chick and sold it everywhere, and by everywhere I mean online, outside of clubs, in stores like Music Depot (where her album sold out twice), and out of trunks. “In Houston we hustle hard. It’s just in us” is how she puts it. It’s definitely not all fun and games, “I have a whole lot of respect for anyone that puts out an album because it’s day in day out, with recording and mixing and everything. It’s a grind. It’s not as easy as it looks”. Understood.

 

On top of being an artist, she has three little ones. She explains, “I’m a rapper, hustler, and mother. A mother first. I’m creating something good for my sons”. She’s after longevity saying, “I wanna do what others haven’t done, get in. I don’t wanna be a puppet or a sex symbol. No females tend to last”. Tell me we haven’t heard that one before. I’m thrilled that she’s coming into the game understanding its challenges and being willing to see it through anyway. She also made a great point about family that I want to make sure gets heard, “if you don’t like it, don’t fuck with it. Like I tell my kids, don’t be a follower, be a leader. What about the parent’s responsibility”? Indeed. I’m all about artists being responsible; however it’s also important for parents to take responsibility for shaping their children’s experience.

 

Let me get off my soapbox now and give Kenika the last word, “I totally appreciate all the love from my fans. I respond to MySpace myself and I keep it real. I’m the people’s choice. If they ask me to do it, I’mma do it. I get love and I give it back”.

 

PEACE

2 Comments

  1. LOVE MY SIS N SHE DO HER THANG WHEN SHE DOES IT…KEEP IT UP SIS..

  2. BITCH PLEASE YA’LL HOES AIN’T ROCKIN LIKE ME!! lmsao das wat it is ma bitch kenika doin ha thang fuck wit it r get fuckd ova ya digg!!! shout aw tu aw d swaggirls swag sku is na n session *MUAH* im aut dis hoe


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Connect: Send music, events, and updates to LaBlaxicana@gmail.com Twitter.com/LaBlaxicana MySpace.com/LaBlaxican